4

Five New Graphic Novels

I very much enjoy graphic novels, and here are five which are either upcoming or newly published, and which I am very much looking forward to reading.  With each, I have copied the blurb to give an idea about what the book is about.

1. Sally Heathcote: Suffragette by Mary M. Talbot and Kate Charlesworth (Dark Horse Comics, 23/09/2014)
“A tale of loyalty, love, and courage, Sally Heathcote, Suffragette follows the fortunes of a common housemaid swept up in the feminist militancy of early 20th century Edwardian Britain. As the growing hunger for change grows within a culture of rigid social mores and class barriers, Sally and thousands like her rise up to break the bonds of oppression at the risk of ostracization and violence. Costa Award winners Mary and Bryan Talbot and acclaimed illustrator Kate Charlesworth have crafted a graphic novel of stunning depth, gripping drama, and lavish visual detail that brings history to life.”

 

2. Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley (Ballantine Books, 31/07/2014)
“Katie’s got it pretty good. She’s a talented young chef, she runs a successful restaurant, and she has big plans to open an even better one. Then, all at once, progress on the new location bogs down, her charming ex-boyfriend pops up, her fling with another chef goes sour, and her best waitress gets badly hurt. And just like that, Katie’s life goes from pretty good to not so much. What she needs is a second chance. Everybody deserves one, after all — but they don’t come easy. Luckily for Katie, a mysterious girl appears in the middle of the night with simple instructions for a do-it-yourself do-over:

1. Write your mistake

2. Ingest one mushroom

3. Go to sleep

4. Wake anew

And just like that, all the bad stuff never happened, and Katie is given another chance to get things right. She’s also got a dresser drawer full of magical mushrooms — and an irresistible urge to make her life not just good, but perfect. Too bad it’s against the rules. But Katie doesn’t care about the rules — and she’s about to discover the unintended consequences of the best intentions.”

Purchase from The Book Depository

 

3. Kill My Mother by Jules Feiffer (Liveright Publishing Corporation, 31/08/2014)
“Jules Feiffer’s first graphic novel begins on the West Coast in the Depression years of the 1930s and ends in Hollywood and the South Pacific during World War II. Kill My Mother centers on five formidable women from two unrelated families, linked fatefully and fatally by a has-been, hard-drinking private detective. Feiffer unleashes a decade-long drama of deception, dual identities, mayhem, and murder, nonetheless laced with the deft humor characteristic of all his work from his groundbreaking Village Voice comic strip to Carnal Knowledge. Now in his eighties, the Oscar-winning cartoonist harkens back to early boyhood influences and reinvents himself, merging his crafts as cartoonist, playwright, and screenwriter. Feiffer draws from the adventure newspaper strips, detective fiction, and noir films of his youth, channeling Will Eisner’s The Spirit, Hammett, Chandler, Cain, John Huston, and Billy Wilder. Rendered in stark atmospheric images, Kill My Mother moves like the movies they don’t make anymore.”

 

4. Displacement by Lucy Knisley (Fantagraphics Books, 24/02/2015)
“In her graphic memoirs, New York Times-best selling cartoonist Lucy Knisley paints a warts-and-all portrait of contemporary, twentysomething womanhood, like writer Lena Dunham (Girls). In the next installment of her graphic travelogue series, Displacement, Knisley volunteers to watch over her ailing grandparents on a cruise. (The book’s watercolors evoke the ocean that surrounds them.) In a book that is part graphic memoir, part travelogue, and part family history, Knisley not only tries to connect with her grandparents, but to reconcile their younger and older selves. She is aided in her quest by her grandfather s WWII memoir, which is excerpted. Readers will identify with Knisley’s frustration, her fears, her compassion, and her attempts to come to terms with mortality, as she copes with the stress of travel complicated by her grandparents’ frailty.”

Purchase from The Book Depository

 

5. Through the Woods by Emily Carroll (Faber & Faber, 03/07/2014)
“This is a fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman. ‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’ Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss. These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll. Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…”

Purchase from The Book Depository

 

Which graphic novels are you most looking forward to reading?  Are there any new or upcoming releases which you are particularly excited for?