Deciding What to Review

Today’s post is more of a discussion.  I keep a reading journal, and write short reviews of everything which I read, and which I then copy onto my Goodreads account.  Some of these reviews only end up being a few sentences long; others are far more comprehensive, and are cross-posted here.

tumblr_n0xycv738y1szmrlyo1_500

Image from tumblr.com

I was wondering the following of my fellow bloggers: how you decide what to review and feature on your blog?  Do you write comprehensive reviews for every book which you read, or do you have an agenda in mind when picking up certain books?  Are there any books which you’ve looked forward to reviewing, but which have fallen short in some way?  Do you also use Goodreads as a reviewing tool?

2 thoughts on “Deciding What to Review

  1. It’s all a matter of time. I read far more quickly than I could possibly review, so I review those that really stay with me, although sometimes it’s the one I loved most that don’t get reviewed because I feel I don’t have enough time to do them justice. So I keep putting them off… until too much time has passed. But I usually write a couple of sentences on Goodreads, just to track things.

  2. It’s a tricky question. I don’t use Goodreads, I’m on LibraryThing, and I used to post reviews there. I try to review everything I read on my blog, which isn’t always easy, and I used to post links to these on LT. Alas, I don’t get a chance to do that any more – no time – so the blog acts as my reading record!

Leave a Reply

