The TBR List: No More Additions

I have been keeping lists of books which I want to read since the age of fifteen.  Every time I saw a wonderful-looking tome in a bookshop, on my library’s catalogue, or whilst scrolling through Goodreads, blogs, and literary articles, I made a note of it.  Six filled notebooks later, I have decided that 2017 will be the year of searching out and reading books already on my TBR list. Things are getting a little out of control already, and if I continue to add to my list, I can see myself never getting through it! tumblr_static_tumblr_static_pile-of-books

This isn’t to say that I won’t be adding the odd tome here and there when it comes highly recommended, or when I read a particularly persuasive or intriguing review.  I just want to cut back almost entirely, and stop writing down hundreds of books every month (perhaps a slight exaggeration, but at least that’s what it feels like I’ve been doing!).

I will be choosing every book from my list at random, but have decided to give it a little structure by starting with my earliest notebook, and going ahead almost chronologically.  I won’t be making a note of which books I have read from which notebook other than on my yearly challenge, but hopefully this way forward will work well, and will make me feel as though all of my reading is manageable.

How many books make up your TBR list?  How do you keep track of it?  Do you actively search for books from it, or are you like me, preferring to write new tomes down as soon as you find them?

3 thoughts on “The TBR List: No More Additions

  1. Ha, I have lots of lists as well, but I never look at them when I am trying to decide what to read next. Or if I do look at a list, I don’t remember why most of the books are on it. So they are pretty useless, but since I love to make lists, I won’t stop. But at least I have stopped buying special notebooks for them. 🙂

  2. Highly sensible. I have no idea really what I’ve read and haven’t read of those on my shelves – I’m trying to concentrate to cut down the numbers which is difficult. But I do have a *small* list of titles to look out for!

Leave a Reply

