New Year, New Plans

I have been thinking of replacing the Saturday Poem posts for quite a while.  Whilst I adore poetry, I have exhausted a couple of the free sources which I’ve been using to schedule the posts, and don’t really have the inclination to seek out new material.

I would therefore like to make each Saturday post going forward a showcase of translated books set in other countries.  I am not going to be solely reading translated literature during 2017, but I hope to be able to slot in more tomes which fit the bill, especially with access to such great, well-stocked libraries.

around-the-world-in-80-book-book-riot

From bookriot.com

I will largely be consulting the Around the World in 80 Books group lists on Goodreads for this project, as well as Nancy Pearl’s Book Lust To Go.  I hope to be able to include books from further afield than Europe and the United States.  I am hoping that these Saturday posts will become an extension of my ‘Reading the World’ posts, which were sadly lacking as soon as the borders of Europe and the US had been reached.

What do you think of this idea?  Are there any books which you’d like to recommend to me?  Which are the top five translated fiction books you’ve read?

One thought on “New Year, New Plans

Leave a Reply

