More Abandoned Books

Every so often, I create a post detailing those books which I have abandoned for whatever reason.  A lot of the following are tomes which I have checked out of the library and have felt no obligation to finish; perhaps if I had purchased them myself, I would have had more staying power, and would have ensured that I read at least half – who knows?  It is a widely-documented bookish fact, though, that life is too short to waste on books you’re not enjoying.  With that said, here are the books which I have put down in the last couple of months.

Antidote to Venom by Freeman Wills Crofts
Being a British Library Crime Classic publication, I thought I would very much enjoy this; it seemed not.  The storyline was peculiar, and felt very far-fetched.

Marrying Off Mother and Other Stories by Gerald Durrell 9781447214540
I very much enjoyed My Family and Other Animals when I read it some years ago, and found the recent ITV production of ‘The Durrells’ both charming and funny.  That said, I decided to check this volume of short stories out, expecting to very much enjoy it.  Sadly not.  I found that a lot of the scenes and characters had been recycled from Durrell’s memoir, and put it down before I got too frustrated.

Death on the Riviera by John Bude
Another British Library Crime Classic which did not wet my whistle.  I had hoped that a crime novel centered around a beautiful place would be just the thing for springtime reading, but I just couldn’t get on with Bude’s slow-moving style.

9781408870778Jonathan Unleashed by Meg Rosoff
It is perhaps not cool to admit that I was a big fan of Rosoff’s ‘young adult’ novels in my teenage years, but I was.  It is perhaps even less cool to say that How I Live Now is still one of your favourite books…  But it is.  I was, understandably, quite looking forward to reading Rosoff’s first adult novel, but found it badly stylised, and, ultimately, a little boring.

Alas, Poor Lady by Rachel Ferguson
I abandoned a Persephone, ladies and gentleman, and now have to live with myself over doing so.  I really enjoyed Ferguson’s The Brontes Went to Woolworths, but this was rather clunky, and I just couldn’t immerse myself into it without feeling as though I was back in a rather dry undergraduate history lesson.

The Cost of Lunch, Etc. by Marge Piercy
I hadn’t heard of Piercy before I checked this out, and then found out how prolific she was.  None of the opening pages grabbed me, so I gave up.

When I Was a Child I Read Books by Marilynne Robinson 9781844087723
I shall be honest and say that I haven’t got on all that well with Robinson’s fiction over the years, and that the only book of hers which I have enjoyed is Housekeeping.  I felt that a volume of essays would be more up my street.  Sadly not.  Everything led back down the road to religion, and whilst I respect Robinson’s belief, it’s not something which I feel should be forcibly shoehorned into every possible essay, regardless of the central theme.

 

Have you read any of these books?  Would you recommend that I try to read any of them again?

Purchase from The Book Depository

2 thoughts on “More Abandoned Books

  1. Fair enough! I think you are being very wise to let go off books you are not enjoying. Some of them might just be the right book at the wrong time, but it’s hard to persevere when you are not having fun.

Leave a Reply

