Birthday Book Haul! :)

It has been ages since I last posted a book haul and the truth is I have been trying to refrain from buying more books, since I plan on moving to Scotland soon and my already unread ones almost reach a triple digit.

However, I cannot fathom any birthday of mine being book-less, so I grasped this opportunity on Monday the 13th to indulge myself in acquiring some books I have been wanting to get my hands on for quite some time.

IMG_0389

  • A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan
  • Dragon Sword and Wind Child by Noriko Ogiwara (I am very much into Japanese fantasy/sci-fi lately, so this book was one of my most treasured acquisitions, especially since it was rather hard to track it down)
  • Debt of Bones by Terry Goodkind
  • Late in the Day: Poems 2010-2014 by Ursula Le Guin
  • Fantastic Chronicles Issue 23 (Greek sci-fi and fantasy related pamphlet)

IMG_0392.JPG

On Monday afternoon, my boyfriend took me to a book fair/exhibition which currently runs in Piraeus, in which many Greek publishing houses participate every year. Of course, I found many books I wanted to buy, but I ended up buying only those two:

  • Journey into the Past by Stefan Zweig
  • The Leviathan by Joseph Roth

I have already read The Leviathan and loved it, so a review of it might appear soon. And I will certainly be visiting the book fair again πŸ˜‰

I’m very happy with my new books and I think they made for a wonderful birthday gift to myself πŸ™‚ Have you read any of those books?

15 thoughts on “Birthday Book Haul! :)

    • Thank you, Karen! I only read “Confusion” by Zweig last year and I fell in love with his prose, so I have high hopes for anything of his that I pick up πŸ™‚ Do you have a favourite amongst his works?

  1. I haven’t read any of these books but they look like a lovely collection and I have heard good things about A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan. I hope you enjoy all your new birthday books πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

