Reading Ireland Month 2016

picmonkey-collage

March is already here and that can only mean one thing: Reading Ireland Month (aka Begorrathon) commences once again! Hosted by Cathy at 746books and Niall at The Fluff is Raging, Reading Ireland Month is a celebration of Irish culture in all its possible forms. Both those amazing people, as well as everyone who is participating, will gift us with posts about books, films, music, recipes, interviews, giveaways and many more things pertaining to the Irish culture.

Last year I had an absolutely wonderful time participating in this event, so I plan to do so again this year. Since I haven’t decided all of the books and films I’m going to be reading/watching for Reading Ireland Month yet, I don’t want to make a definite list because I will most likely stray from it ๐Ÿ˜›

However, I certainly plan on posting about Oscar Wilde (I have 2 plays and some poems in mind), Leland Bardwell’s The House and Nuala Nรญ Chonchรบir‘s The Closet of Savage Mementos which I won in one of last year’s giveaways the lovely Cathy hosted, some poetry by Patrick Kavanagh, Eoin Colfer’s last Artemis Fowl book and Ciaran Carson’s Shamrock Tea. I hope to be able to get to all of them, and, of course, I’m open to any unexpected titles that might occur.

Apart from books, I also plan on watching some Irish films and talk about them in a post every Sunday of March, following my last year’s tradition. I haven’t made a list of the films I will be watching just yet, but since last year I watched and wrote about The Secret of Kells, I really want to try Song of the Sea this year. Brooklyn is also a film I’ve been meaning to watch, so I think this will be an excellent opportunity for me to do so.

I’m really looking forward to all the posts by those who will participate, as I’m sure I will find some great treasures to read, watch or listen to through them.

Is any of you participating as well? ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “Reading Ireland Month 2016

  1. This sounds great! I’m especially looking forward to your posts about Oscar Wilde and Patrick Kavanagh. Of course, I’ve been reading Wilde for some time now, but Kavanagh just recently became one of my favorite poets and I’d love the opportunity to discuss his work. I just might have to join in on this too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, Hanna ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m new to Kavanagh as well, so I’m very excited to read his poetry. You should definitely join in, too!

Leave a Reply

