Literary London

As I am sure you all know by now, I am currently studying for a Master’s degree in London.  As I am rather strapped for time with regard to writing new reviews, I thought it may be a good idea to give a little taster of Literary London, and recommend a few things for the bookish amongst us to do whilst in the Big Smoke.

  1. The Bloomsbury Writer’s Walk – I have only done a smidgen of this trail so far, but it looks wonderful.  I’m waiting for a beautifully sunny day where I have a couple of hours to spare in which to enjoy it properly.
  2. The British Library – This one seems obvious, but there is so much to explore here!  I’ve been told that whilst the cafe is expensive, it serves rather good food, so definitely try and visit around a mealtime if you can.
  3. Waterstone’s Piccadilly – Again, one which I am sure the majority of you will already know about; how could you not!?  Waterstone’s Piccadilly is a veritable haven for book lovers, with so many floors, and so much choice!  It’s also the largest bookshop in the entirety of Europe, so if you’ve not visited thus far, what are you waiting for?
  4. Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre – Yet again, another very obvious choice for Literary London, but the Globe is definitely worth a visit.  Try and check out one of the £5 standing tickets for the plays; such a good day out!
  5. The Sherlock Holmes Museum – Whilst I have not visited myself yet, I have heard marvellous things about this small but excellent piece of Holmesian fandom; it is high on my list!
  6. John Keats’ House – The wonderful poet John Keats’ house is now a museum, which hosts a rich programme of events throughout the year, from poetry slams to creative writing classes.  Find out what’s going on here.
  7. The Poetry Library, Southbank Centre – One of the most wondrous libraries which I have ever visited, and the only dedicated poetry library in the whole country; what more do you need?

Which are your favourite literary places to visit in London?

5 thoughts on “Literary London

  1. Great post! I like to go to the Foyles cafe and stare at all the people who are trying to look literary. (This would include myself, if I had a way of getting outside of myself and looking).

  2. I adore Foyles, of course, and all the Bloomsbury bookshops. The stalls at the South Bank are wonderful, and I just love the Royal Festival Hall because of its history. I’ve only been to the British Library once, to see the On The Road scroll, but I was mightily impressed and want to go again! 🙂

  3. I love Foyles in the Charing Cross Road and the LRB bookshop – both of which also have good cafes. Then there’s Charles Dickens’ House and what about Dr Johnson’s … I’ll stop there!

  4. I’ve been to the Sir John Soane Museum and even Samuel Johnson’s house but never Keats’. I must remedy that. The Sherlock Holmes Museum is really small but very charming.

Leave a Reply

