7 Things That Make Me Happy

Routine has brutally evaded our lives and has made most of our days seem dull and so painfully similar to one another. Sometimes we get too caught up with our jobs or studies and this endless list of chores and things we need to do, that we end up paying no attention to the little things that can very easily brighten up our days and put a smile on our face. I was tagged by the lovely Fotini of Metaphrasi to do this very interesting and really inspiring post, in which I list 7 things (not necessarily material, but things in a broader sense) that make me feel happy.

1.The first sip of my coffee in the morning.

Whether it is coffee I make at home or coffee I buy from my favourite coffee shop (which, let’s not kid ourselves, tastes much better), the very first sip I take is always the most delicious one and it can make me ridiculously happy.

2. Strolling around and exploring the city.

I live in Athens for almost 5 years now and I still cannot confidently say that I can easily navigate myself through its entirety. I get lost pretty easily, actually, and sometimes I just love it when I have the time to just take a stroll around and explore every nook and crevice of the city and come across new places I never knew existed before.

3. Reading beautifully written literature.

I’m not at all a literature snob, I enjoy reading (almost) all kinds of literature, even if it’s just to have an idea of what each genre and type of literary work has to offer. However much I love my fantasy and crime fiction, though, nothing gives me this satisfaction and inner bliss that beautifully written literary fiction does. (That is not to say, of course, that fantasy or crime fiction cannot be written beautifully.)

4. Finally watching a film or TV show I’ve been anticipating for a long time.

There are some films and TV shows that grab your attention from the very first trailer or poster picture you see of them and you get immediately drawn to them. Sometimes the anticipation lasts long, and when that is the case the satisfaction of finally getting the chance to see this film or TV show is even bigger.

5. Winter time.

I’m a winter girl. I love the cold, rainy or snowy weather. I love wearing my oversized sweaters and fuzzy socks and cuddling up with my kitty and my books while sipping hot chocolate. I love staying at home during winter. I love going out during winter. I love the smell of rain on the ground and the cosy feeling most shops have during winter.

6. Eating delicious food.

Cooking is not my strongest asset, so whenever I get to eat deliciously made food (and I don’t mean fast food) I get ecstatic. It’s like happiness exploding in your palate.

7. Alone time.

As an introvert, I seek and am in need for some time to spend by and for myself. It’s usually time spent contemplating about various things, writing or reading, having a relaxing bath and generally taking care of myself and replenishing my strength so I can face the rest of my day.

Feel free to do this tag if you feel like it. I would love to read your posts and see what makes you happy 🙂

9 thoughts on “7 Things That Make Me Happy

  1. What a lovely post. You’ve really nailed what the tag was about and it’s always nice to find out more about you. Do you prefer going to a small coffee shop? What was the last film or TV show you got really excited about?

    • Thank you, Alex 🙂 I do prefer smaller coffee shops, since they have this cosier atmoshere and sense of serenity in them. Plus, most of them are much better decorated 😉 I’m really excited to watch ‘Macbeth’, as I have heard great things about this film. As for a TV show, I was looking forward to the second season of ‘How to Get Away With Murder’ and now I’m struggling with waiting for each episode every week 😛 What about you?

      • I have been meaning to see the film. I’m getting ready for a wedding so I’m a bit behind on a few things. It was the first Shakespeare play I saw performed live and has some of my favourite Bard quotes, so I’ll make sure I do.

        I heard good things about it, but I’m on the final series of Buffy and the third of House of Cards. I also love Downtown Abbey, The Big Bang Theory and Sherlock.

      • I hope the film lives up to your expectations, then 🙂 I’m planning on seeing it some time next week, hopefully, so do let me know what you think about it when you do see it.
        I love The Big Bang Theory and Sherlock as well, and I might start watching Dowton Abbey next. How to Get Away With Murder is pretty addictive!

      • My sister saw Benedict Cumberbatch as Hamlet so she’s got even closer than me to meeting Sherlock. I love how they’ve represented the short stories and modernised them. And if the show is as good as the title, I’m not surprised it’s so addictive ha.

        This quote from the last episode of TBBT really made me laugh

        Penny – It’s bad enough what happened.Then he tried to hide the fact that he sees her all the time at the university.

        Sheldon – He does? Who is it?

        Penny – A girl named Mandy

        Sheldon – Mandy Chow?

        Penny – Yeah.

        Sheldon – Oh, you don’t need to worry about her. She’s brilliant and attractive. She can do way better than Leonard!

  2. Lovely post Akylina! Most of the things you’re mentioning are so relaxing and serene, I’d love to have them in my daily routine 🙂 A walk in your city is always nice, especially if you have your favorite coffee and a good book to take along 🙂

  3. I like the colder months too. My favourite season is autumn as I love the golden leaves, the crisp mornings and wearing my comfy boots, jumpers and my favourite scarves 🙂 I think I might give this a go on my blog.

    • By all means, do! Autumn is my second favourite season for all those reasons you mentioned 🙂 The colder months have a special something in them, don’t they?

Leave a Reply

