Jo Nesbø in Athens [18/09/2015]

jonesbo

Most readers around the world (and especially fans of crime fiction) should already be acquainted with the Norwegian author Jo Nesbø and his most well-known creation, the (anti)hero Inspector Harry Hole. Jo Nesbø visited Athens for a talk and book signing, in celebration of the recent release of his latest novel, Mere blod (More Blood) in Greek just 3 days ago.

Jo Nesbø’s books have sold more than 23 million copies and they have been translated in more than 40 languages. Inspector Harry Hole quickly became a favourite among crime fiction fans, who impatiently await the next book in the series to be released. His arrival in Athens definitely caused some excitement to all bookish people, since approximately 2000 people attended the event yesterday evening.

People started gathering up in queues outside the place Nesbø’s event would take place a few hours beforehand (I went there 2 hours before and the queue was already large enough).

φωτογραφία0038(I’m sorry for the bad quality photos.)

Jo Nesbø appeared in his jeans and T-shirt and the crowd applauded him enthusiastically. He was asked questions about his books, the film/TV adaptations, his writing influences as well as the social composition of his own country as is presented in his books. He replied in all the questions with quite a smart and humorous manner. I especially liked his answer on whether he’d worry if his books are adapted faithfully on screen and if he’d intervene in the process, where he replied that the more different the movie/TV show is from his book the better, since the story works perfectly as a book, so we shouldn’t try to make it work as well in a different medium.

φωτογραφία0040

After the talk he signed books. The queue was again so enormous that the process had to be impersonalised a lot. A lady standing next to him took each person’s books that they wanted signed and put them in front of Nesbø to sign them as quickly as possible, so by the time I arrived in front of him my book had already been signed and put aside for me to pick it up on my way out. (You can actually see my retreating back in the photo.) I didn’t really like this part, as I would have liked the author to see the face of each reader for whom he signed the books, but I understand that it would have taken forever to finish signing everything that way.

IMG_0386

I really enjoyed yesterday’s event and I feel very grateful towards all the people who made it possible. Culture is a very important part of society and I’m very happy that there are still people who prioritize it and organise such events despite the current ugly political and economical situation here.

5 thoughts on “Jo Nesbø in Athens [18/09/2015]

  1. I’m glad you had such a fun time and got so much out of it. My Nick Hornby signature is still on of my prize possessions, especially as he was the absolute peak at the time. Such a nice guy too.

  2. It’s great to see authors you love in real life but I agree with you, it would be really nice to be able to make eye contact or even talk to them a little bit. That’s why I prefer smaller events but with authors of his fame and success it’s virtually impossible! I’m sure it was a great experience!

    • Indeed! The number of people that attended the event was insane! One part of me was ecstatic that a bookish event attracted so many people, but another part of me yearned for that more intimate contact. Oh well. Have you ever attended such literary events?

      • Ι have been to a few, the most crowded one was when Irvin Yalom came to Athens some years ago! We were sitting down, there was nowhere else to sit!!! But it was a very interesting event…

Leave a Reply

