20 Books of Summer Wrap-up (Akylina)

20-books-of-summer-master-image

As summer slowly melts away (and I want to emphasise slowly because the weather here in Athens simply refuses to comform to autumn standards), giving ground to its more wistful succeeding season, the 20 Books of Summer challenge that the wonderful Cathy at 746 Books came up with has also come to an end.

Summer is my least favourite season but I bear with it because, usually, it also happens to be my most productive season reading-wise. In fact, I read about 35 books in those crazy three months, and 13 of them I completed only in July (which makes July my most well-read month so far this year).

I chose 20 of those books to include to my part of the 20 Books of Summer challenge. I’ve only written about 2 of them until now, but I plan on writing for the rest of them in the following weeks. So, here’s a list of what I read for this challenge:

  • The Last Wish by Andrej Sapkowski
  • Persuasion by Jane Austen
  • Silk by Alessandro Baricco
  • The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins (Kirsty wrote a lovely review for this one, so I don’t think I will review it too)
  • The Art of Asking by Amanda Palmer
  • Blood on Snow by Jo Nesbo
  • The Diary of a Madman by Nikolai Gogol
  • Smoke and Mirrors by Neil Gaiman
  • Gooseberries by Anton Chekhov
  • Plutus by Aristophanes
  • The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Hatred by Vangelis Giannisis
  • Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
  • Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D.H. Lawrence
  • Jacob’s Room by Virginia Woolf
  • Snakes and Earrings by Hitomi Kanehara
  • Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
  • Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach
  • Jane Austen by Carol Shields
  • Making Sense of Japanese by Jay Rubin

I had a lot of fun reading all those books and even though some of them were not as good, I found quite a few new favourites among them.

A huge thank you to Cathy for organising this great challenge to spice up our dull summer days – you are simply wonderful and I can’t wait for you to organise more great challenges and events! πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “20 Books of Summer Wrap-up (Akylina)

  1. Autumn is my favourite season. Being a fall baby I guess I am biased. Steinbeck really has some of the best endings from a novelist I’ve ever read. Until I bought some of his books for my sister, I had no idea Jo Nesbo was a man. I’ve been watching the Sherlock TV show. It’s wonderful if you get the chance. Love how they incorporate the stories into it.

  2. Well done, you’ve read so much! Many interesting books on your list. I look forward to reading your thoughts on them. I managed to read 6 of my 10 books for this challenge, which I’m pleased with. Two of the books I didn’t get round too are suitably gothic and mysterious. So will make good autumn and R.I.P reading πŸ™‚

  3. What a lovely selection – well done! Like you, I’m not a fan of summer, though I did read a lot. But I love those autumnal evenings…..

Leave a Reply

