The Inside Out Book Tag

It is time for another book tag! This one was created in the Greek book blogging community by CherryBookReviews and I was tagged by the wonderful Eleni at Over the Place. So, let’s begin:

1. What do you think about the blurb/summary at the back of a book?

I usually like to read the summary of a book I know absolutely nothing about before picking it up. It really frustrates me when I find a book at the bookshop which looks appealing and instead of a short summary at the back there are comments and praises for it – how is that of any help? As if anyone would include negative reviews on the actual book.

2. In which format do you prefer a new book? Audiobook, e-book, paperback or hardback?

I love physical books more than anything. Hardbacks are usually out quicker and sometimes their covers are just so beautiful, but no one can deny their omnipresent setback of being really inconvenient to carry around. If it’s a book or an author I truly adore, I will try to get it in hardback, or else I usually go for the paperbacks. I don’t have the best of relationships with e-books (yet), since I don’t have an e-reader and it’s terribly inconvenient to read on my laptop. For now, only review copies are in e-book format. As for audiobooks, since I’m mostly a visual type, I find myself not fully following the plot in an audiobook, as it takes a great amount of concentration (and I tend to do a billion other things when only my ears are occupied), so I usually have a printed copy to accompany my listening (unless it’s non-fiction).

3. Do you keep notes while reading? Do you like annotating your books or do you prefer keeping them clean?

I tend to be very particular about the state of my books, though I’ve noticed that this habit of mine has subsided a lot recently. I usually refrain from annotating my books, but when I do it I always use a pencil. Textbooks might be an exception but not always.

4. Which is one of your favourite sentences from a book?

“Let us dream of evanescence and linger in the beautiful foolishness of things.” – The Book of Tea

5. Does it matter to you whether the author of a book is a man or a woman? What happens when you’re not certain about their gender?

Even though I like knowing some background information about the author whose book I’m reading, I don’t pay much attention to whether they are male or female; unless, of course, they tackle some important gender or race themes or they have extreme opinions about something.

6. Do you rush ahead when reading? Have you ever read the end of a book before actually reaching the end?

When I was younger, upon buying a new book, even before I actually started reading it, I used to read its first and last sentence. Needless to say I used to spoil myself really bad in certain cases, so I luckily stopped doing that. Now, I try to refrain from peeking at later or the ending pages, though when there’s a development I’m really uncomfortable with, I sometimes peek ahead just to reassure myself.

7. Are your bookshelves in order or do they look bombarded?

I would like to think they are in order. I have really tried to keep them in order. They actually look very bombarded. I have all the best intentions, but I’ve run out of shelf space, which means that there are books upon other books, in front of other books, amongst other books. Yes.

8. Have you ever bought a book just because of its cover?

Quite a lot of times, I’m afraid. I’m such a sucker for beautiful things – book covers included.

9. Do you read in public or do you prefer the quiet of home?

The quiet of home is ideal, but I tend to bring a book along with me whenever I’m out, in case I find myself with some spare time to kill (like waiting in lines, for a friend to come or for the bus to arrive..).

I tag everyone and anyone who feels like doing this tag 🙂 I’d love to read your answers on these questions!

11 thoughts on “The Inside Out Book Tag

  1. This is a fun meme and I have enjoyed reading your answers. If it makes you feel better my bookshelves are currently looking bombarded too! I might have to give this a go myself.

    • Thank you, Jessica 🙂 I’m glad I’m not the only one! Great, I’d love to see your answers to these questions 😀

  2. Pingback: The Inside Out book tag! | Nothing Under the Sun

  3. Pingback: Reviews and other Features: The Inside Out Book Tag | Alex Raphael

    • Thank you for your comment Alex, and for doing the tag as well! I’ll check the A-Z challenge out, it seems pretty interesting! 🙂

    • Yay 😀 Thank you for tagging me, I really enjoyed answering those questions and reading your own answers, too 😉

  4. Pingback: Meme: The Inside Out Book Tag | The Bookworm Chronicles

Leave a Reply

