BookTube: Review – ‘The Alice Behind Wonderland’ by Simon Winchester

4 thoughts on “BookTube: Review – ‘The Alice Behind Wonderland’ by Simon Winchester

  1. !!! :O)

    I read The Man who Loved China – and thought it was fabulous. Like you, I would like to read all of Winchester’s work. I think he’s a marvellous writer. I like what you say about this book, and his perspective on Lewis Carroll and his photography…. Well done Winchester for sticking up for him.

    Best science book I have ever read? “The Magic of Reality: How We Know What’s Really True” by Richard Dawkins. The general consensus is that it is aimed at 12 year olds – which is probably my science age. I think it is one of the best and most beautifully written books I have ever read. If your science age is over 12 though, it may be a bit simplistic for you.

    • Thanks so much for your lovely comment, Caroline! I am quite impressed at the moment; I’ve just received a comment from Simon Winchester himself about my review of ‘The Alice Behind Wonderland’! I completely agree, and I’m itching to buy more of his books now.

      Thank you so much for the recommendation! My library has a copy (yay!), so I’ve requested it and very much look forward to reading it!

  2. Wow, that is SO exciting! I love it when authors leave comments on reviews. It always feels like a generous gesture, and is always such a nice compliment for the review.

    Hooray that you can get hold of the Dawkins book. I hope you enjoy it even half as much as I did.

    • I couldn’t agree more! It’s the second time it’s happened to me (the first was a lovely comment from Claire King on my review of ‘The Night Rainbow’), but it’s so lovely to think that authors take the time out to comment upon such things. Thanks so much Caroline; I’m so looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

