Flash Reviews (26th April 2014)

‘The Women Who Got Away’ by John Updike (Penguin Great Loves)

The Women Who Got Away by John Updike **
This is another of the books which I purchased in the library sale; it is a novella in the Penguin Great Loves series, it is in perfect condition, has no library stickers within it, has a very pretty cover, and only cost about twelve pence.  I hadn’t read any of Updike’s work before I started The Women Who Got Away, but he is an author whom I feel that I really should be more familiar with.  I like to read short story collections by those writers who are new to me, as I often feel as though it gives me a great feel for their work.  I wasn’t at all sure what to expect from Updike, and I certainly did enjoy his prose style.  Some of his turns of phrase were really beautiful.  The one qualm I had was that these stories are a little too erotic for my personal taste.  I will be reading more of his work in future, however.

Purchase from The Book Depository

 

Mini Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella ****
Astridthebookworm’s BookTube channel reminded me how much fun Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic books are, and as I had not read the last book in the series, it left the library with me.  I don’t really read much chick lit, but I very much enjoy this series.  The books are funny, believable and occasionally rather clever in their plots, and I really do like the ditsy protagonist, Becky Bloomwood (now Brandon).  In Mini Shopaholic, Becky is the mother of a spoilt and opinionated two-year-old named Minnie, whom I was expecting to be an obnoxious little brat (she certainly was).  The book is really enjoyable, and the characterisation worked marvellously.  The storyline was made up of a lot of separate plot strands, which came together really well.  Mini Shopaholic is certainly a fitting end to the Shopaholic series

Purchase from The Book Depository

 

Pollyanna by Eleanor H. Porter ***
I don’t remember reading Pollyanna when I was little, even though it definitely would have appealed to my The Secret Garden and The Little Princess-loving self.  In Pollyanna, Pollyanna Whittier is moving to live with her aunt Polly, who seems rather a formidable character by all accounts.  Pollyanna has been orphaned, and will call Beldingsville, Vermont her new home.  She is rather a sweet protagonist, talkative and spirited throughout.  She is rather an endearing little character.  Porter’s writing style is lovely and quaint, and one of my favourite elements of the story was the way in which Pollyanna struck up a friendship with her aunt’s maid, Nancy.  Pollyanna is essentially a morality tale, and whilst I enjoyed it on the whole, I did find it a little disappointing overall.

Purchase from The Book Depository

6 thoughts on “Flash Reviews (26th April 2014)

    • I’m glad it wasn’t just me! I really enjoyed ‘The Little Princess’ too, and have yet to read ‘Anne of Green Gables’, but it’s great to hear that you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

