‘Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops’ and ‘More Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops’ by Jen Campbell ****

‘Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops’ by Jen Campbell

One would think that those who peruse the many bookshops up and down the breadth of England would be relatively intelligent – right?  Wrong, according to author Jen Campbell.  Not only has she written Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops based upon her experiences as a bookseller, she has had to bring out a sequel.

I have wanted to read these books since they first came out, but both have been rather elusive to try and find.  I did not receive review copies of either book, I can never find it in bookshops (I do not know whether I should find this odd or not), and my library does not stock it.  Instead, I caved when I really shouldn’t have, and purchased both from The Book People.

Both Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops and More Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops have been split into three sections, to separate the weirdness, as it were.  In both books, I found it both amusing and rather cringeworthy that the general public can be so… well… thick.  The second book is even funnier than the first, and I was stifling giggles throughout.  The illustrations provide wonderful accompaniments to the text.

‘More Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops’ by Jen Campbell

Some of the best – or, arguably, worst – entries are as follows:

– ‘Do you have any books by Jane Eyre?’
– ‘Did Anne Frank write a sequel?’
– Someone asking, with all seriousness, where the ‘fictional novels’ can be found
– A customer wanting books ‘signed by Shakespeare’
– ‘Do you have a copy of Atonement?  But not the film cover, please.  Keira Knightley’s neck makes me want to punch things.’
– ‘Have you got a children’s book I’ve heard about?  It’s called Lionel Richie and The Wardrobe.’
– A child, pointing to the Dr Seuss books: ‘I made a hat for my cat, but he won’t wear it.  That book is full of lies.’

Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops and More Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops are real gems, treasure troves as they are of humour and stupidity.  They are sure to delight every single bookworm who comes across them.

Purchase from The Book Depository

8 thoughts on “‘Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops’ and ‘More Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops’ by Jen Campbell ****

  1. The shop assistants can be pretty thick too. I remember when I worked on the information desk in Heffers in Cambridge. An Italian came in and asked me for a book about Footzballz. I ummmed and arrrred then referred him to the philosophy department ;-D

  2. These books sound hilarious I want to get hold of them! I volunteer in an oxfam bookshop and I have had someone ask me before if we had a book by jane eyre!

    • I’d recommend ordering them from The Book People if you can! I purchased the set of two from them via AbeBooks, and it came to £3.99 in total with free delivery.

    • I tend not to either Cynthia; if there is a choice between more than one version, I won’t ever go for the movie cover, unless it’s a movie which I’ve adored.

Leave a Reply

