Flash Reviews (17th September 2013)

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan ****
I have been wanting to read this book for years, more so since I saw the film version with the adorable Logan Lerman cast as Percy.  I was a little worried that it wouldn’t be as good as I expected, but what I found when I began to read was an incredibly engaging novel, which swept me into its pages and refused to let go.  I love the way in which I, as a reader, was a character on the very first page.  The storyline throughout was intriguing, and the cast of characters marvellous.  I found the way in which Riordan combined Greek myths and historical events.  My only qualm was that Percy often seemed older than twelve, but in the grand scheme of things, that didn’t matter too much.  He was wonderfully angsty regardless.
Suggested accompanying playlist: ‘Fat Lip’ by Sum 41, ‘Papercut’ by Linkin Park, ‘Blood on My Hands’ by The Used, ‘Caribbean War Syndrome’ by Twin Atlantic

The Language of Flowers by Kate Greenaway ****
The Language of Flowers is such a lovely idea for a book, and it is beautifully presented.  Such a lot of thought and work must have gone into Greenaway’s research.  Her illustrations are absolutely lovely, as I knew they would be.  I imagine that this would be even more adorable in a physical edition (yes, I read it on my Kindle, illustrations and all), and would make a beautiful gift and a darling coffee table book.

Selected Poems by T.S. Eliot ***
I decided to re-read this book due to my love of <i>Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats</i> and April’s adoration and sparkling review of his poetry.  Eliot is a very shrewd and intelligent poet, and I would dearly like to read one of his longer collections.  My favourite poems were ‘The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock’, ‘The Waste Land’, ‘The Hollow Men’ and ‘Marina’.
Suggested accompanying playlist: ‘I Knew Prufrock Before He Got Famous’ by Frank Turner.  On repeat.

3 thoughts on “Flash Reviews (17th September 2013)

  1. LOVE Prufrock; it’s one of my all-time favorites. I’m actually in the process of memorizing it! (For my birthday last year, my husband made me a T-shirt that says “Prufrock is my homeboy,” which is so silly, I just love it.)
    Also glad to hear that you enjoyed Percy Jackson. I, too, have only seen the movie and have been meaning to pick up the book. Sounds like it’ll be worth it! 🙂

    • Memorising ‘Prufrock’ sounds like a wonderful idea, Kelly, and your t shirt sounds so cool! I really hope you enjoy the Percy Jackson book! I have the second in the series due to arrive in the post anytime, so I shall try and get to it quickly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

