‘My Life in France’ by Julia Child

I go to France often. I love the country, the culture and the cuisine, and I also love to see how those from foreign shores adapt to the French way of life. I will read pretty much any book set in Paris, one of my favourite cities. I am particularly interested in non-fiction accounts of life in France. It comes with no surprise then, that I had been wanting to read My Life in France for quite some time. I was overjoyed when my parents got me the beautiful 100th birthday edition for my own birthday this year.

I hoped I wouldn’t be disappointed with Julia Child’s memoir as I had heard a lot of hype about it, and I am thrilled to say that I absolutely adored it. In it, Child has created the most wonderful recipe, combining a travel book with a culinary memoir, and mixing handfuls of friends and love into its pages for good measure. In consequence, My Life in France is a real treat to read. I loved the informal style which Child adopts, and her descriptions are just beautiful. She describes France with such tenderness, such love.

The photographs scattered throughout, almost all of them taken by her husband Paul, are absolutely glorious, and are such a nice touch. Child’s memoir, with the addition of these pictures, is an incredibly sensory one, and it ranks amongst the best pieces of non-fiction which I have ever read. Julia Child was an absolutely marvellous woman, and I adored sharing her journey into Paris and out again. My Life in France is a book as rich and sumptuous as the dishes it mentions, and all foodies should have a copy on their bookshelves.

2 thoughts on “‘My Life in France’ by Julia Child

Leave a Reply

